479.717.7737 [email protected]


continuum of care program

EFSP Phase 41

The Emergency Food and Shelter Program was established on March 24, 1983, through the “Jobs Stimulus Bill,” Public Law 98-8 and authorized under the Stewart B. McKinney Homeless Assistance Act. The legislation created a National Board, chaired by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) that consisted of representatives of the American Red Cross, Catholic Charities USA, The Jewish Federations of North America, National Council of the Churches of Christ in the USA, The Salvation Army and United Way Worldwide. 

Under the guidance of the of EFSP National Board and direct supervision of the Local Board, United Way of Northwest Arkansas serves as administrator for Northwest Arkansas counties. These funds are awarded in Benton, Carroll, and Washington counties for Phase 41.  These counties will receive the following amounts to support emergency food and shelter programs:

Phase 41 Funding:

  • Benton County – $75,655
  • Carroll County – $7,297
  • Washington County – $63,333


Local agencies receiving funding must be able to adhere to the following requirements:

  1. Be private voluntary non-profits or units of government
  2. Not be barred or suspended from receiving Federal funding 
  3. Have a checking account (cash payments are not allowed)
  4. Have an accounting system or fiscal agent approved by local board 
  5. Have a Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)
  6. Have a Unique Entity ID (UEI) number 
  7. Conduct and provide a copy of an independent annual audit if receiving $50,000 or more in EFSP funds or conduct an accountant’s review if receiving $25,000 to $49,999 in EFSP funds
  8. Be providing services and using its other resources in the area in which they are seeking funds
  9. Practice non-discrimination
  10. Have a voluntary board if private, not-for-profit 
  11. To the extent practicable, involve homeless individuals and families
  12. Have demonstrated the capability to deliver emergency food and/or shelter programs 
  13. Have ability to fulfill all reporting requirements as requested 


To apply, please complete the following application.  If organizations are interested in applying for funding from multiple counties, separate applications must be submitted for each county. 

Applications can be submitted via email to Debbie Martin at [email protected] OR mailed to:

NWA Continuum of Care

EFSP Phase 41

PO Box 3643

Fayetteville, AR 72701

Applications must be received by Wednesday, April 10, 2024 at 5 pm CST. For questions, please contact Debbie Martin at (479) 717-7737 or [email protected]. 

Interested in Volunteering?